7 things I learned about life from the 2014 World Cup

Winslow Townson-- USA Today Sports
Winslow Townson– USA Today Sports

I– I believe– I believe that– I believe that we– I believe that we will– I believe that we will win. I believe that we will win!  I believe that we will win!  I believe that we will win!

Never do I find myself watching sports competitions– not even the Olympics, and don’t even get me started on football (the American one)…  However, I found myself watching the 2014 World Cup matches.  The more I pondered about it, the more I realized that there are a lot of life lessons!  Here are some of my thoughts on it:

1. Cheering for the alpha is a sure bet, but cheering for the underdog is way more exciting and fun.  I don’t know what it is, but there is always a desire to see the underdog succeed and stage an upset.  All throughout the Round of 16, I was cheering for the USA and Algeria 😀 who were against some of the strongest teams!  Sometimes it just gets so close and oh my gosh you feel like you just can handle it  anymore!!!  Although you hate to admit it, yes, the leaders of the groups were most likely going to advance anyway, but part of you still had that hope that the underdogs would win.

2. Life is good when you play it safe, but it can be even better if you take a risk.  Nike told me so:

3. Don’t expect to be good if you don’t put in the time to improve.  Okay, this maybe like a shout out to my country but TIM HOWARD.  OH MY GOD.  Literally on fire.  He was so good throughout the whole competition but wowowowow during Belgium v. USA.  Belgium would have spanked the USA’s bums pretty badly if it weren’t for Howard, who made 16 saves!  The internet loves him too.  And you know what?  He made his 100th cap in the 2014 World Cup and he made he first appearance for the national team 12 years ago.  So YES that is a LONG time ago and he had a lot of practice.  Take away advice?  Before you can get good, you have to spend some goods.  (Goods as in time.  Because time is precious.  Time is a good.  Noun.)

4. Even though you played your best, sometimes you will still lose 😦

5. But it wouldn’t matter anyway because you know you did your best at that time.  It’s so easy, 5 years of now, to reminisce and say, “Gee, I think I could have pushed myself a little harder.”  Well, if you knew you performed to the best of your ability at that time, what could you possibly regret?

reuters2
via Reuters / Chile’s Gonzalo Jara (L) comforts his teammate Gary Medel after losing their 2014 World Cup round of 16 game against Brazil

6.  Your heart and spirit will be broken.  Keep moving forward.  Having your heart broken is like part of being an adult, and if you’ve made it this far in life without having your heart broken and your spirit crushed by something that was totally OUT of your control (like say, unrequited love, losing to a stronger team, or even losing your job) you’re not really an adult.  What’s important is that you recognize this is an OPPORTUNITY to become stronger, to be better, to keep on improving until one day, YOU accomplish your dreams.

7. Sometimes the world will make fun of you.  Keep your head up and never stop believing.  These silly Americans calling football soccer!  Gesh.  Haha!  Anyway, regardless of what you do in life, there will always be people who will make fun of you.   You just have to keep your head up.  And join them 😀 

Leave a Reply

