To Find Your Calling, Think About What You Want to Get Good At, Not What You Are Good At

There is a mindset that needs a little fine tuning.  If you don’t know what you want to do in life especially when it comes to career choices, people try to be as helpful as they can, “What are you good at?” they probe.  “Well,” you think, “I think I’m good at procrastinating.  Oh, and sleeping.  And breathing– I’ve been doing that since I was born!”  Not that helpful…

“What about math?”

“I suck at math.”

“What about art?”

“I suck at art too.”

And so it goes… the point is, we were probably all bad at something in our lives and there is a very very very EXTREMELY small possibility that we were born with just an innate talent to do everything well.

So before we should think about whether or not we should give up, we need to think:

  1. Do I not like it because I am bad at it? or
  2. Do I not like it because I really don’t like it, and for NO OTHER REASON.

If we are giving up on something because of reason #1 it is not a good choice because that means we’re  probably not gritty enough to stick with something when it gets hard.

To figure out what you want to do in life, find out what you want to get good at, not what you already are good at.

Leave a Reply

