Uncomfortableness is Necessary for Constant Improvement

Are you uncomfortable? If yes– that is good. If it’s no, then you’re not pushing yourself hard enough.

This is something I am working on telling myself, as I come from a more technical and objective background that differs greatly from the subjective analysis and artistic intricacy present in the field of architecture.

Still unfamiliar to drafting, modeling, and the heavy software know how required of architecture students, I am finding myself constantly sweating about my projects because I know my design skills and craftsmanship are not to the point where I want it.

But in life, everything is about constantly drawing and re-drawing, determining and re-determining your comfort-zone. To expand skills, we must always go just a wee-bit out of what we are comfortable with and what we know, in order to learn something new.

Life/ Studio Rule #1: A constant state of uncomfortableness will yield results in the (sometimes not-so) immediate future.
Every time I think I want to give up (which honestly has been quite a number of times this semester), I think of how uncomfortable I once was with the English language in elementary school.  I was old enough to remember.

I spelled every word wrong.  My grades were below average.  Minuses (-) were checked in every column of the carbon copies!  (They’re now over a decade old)

Fast forward to high school, where I was decent at some subjects, but also fared very, very poorly in other subjects…

Right now I am struggling in design studio.  I am very mediocre with drafting and building models, and secretly a technophobe especially when it comes to software.

But I’m optimistic.  Every time I feel that I’m worn out and struggling in studio, I remind myself of how far I’ve come, and all the work that I had to put in before I could reap results… how this state of uncomfortableness is necessary in order to excel at everything I want to do.

Leave a Reply

